The first sauna is the best in my life

Kamiguchi Junki
3 min readJan 15, 2021

--

New year has started.

Today, I introduce to you my first sauna in my life,
and also the place where I recognized “the sauna” first time.

My first sauna

“Yu-raku” in Okuzushima, Nanto city, Toyama prefecture, Japan.

in Autumn

The First-class river “Sho-gawa”, near by Yu-raku,
flow to Toyama bay through following arround two world heritages called “Gokayama Gassho-zukuri” and “Shirakawa-Go”,you may have heard.

Sho-gawa is very unique color” emerald green”. In summer, scenery around Yu-raku makes it a wonderful place surrounded by lush greenery.
This is my first sauna.

in winter

In winter, Yu-raku surround by a lot of snows.
When I was a boy, I really dislike too much snows and the coldness.
But after I fell in love in sauna, too much snow and cold became a reward.

SAUNA *90-120 degrees Celsius

At first, when you open sauna room door, you can see beautiful view beyond the window.

https://nanto-yuraku.jimdofree.com/
Female sauna room <from official website>

Sauna room temperatures are 90–120 degrees Celsius both male and female.
There are range of temperature. Those change due to the people coming and going, but I don’t feel difference of temperature.
There is electric sauna stove which can’t threw the water.
(Throwing water on the stove is called “loyly” in finnish.)
The sauna room is very dry comparatively. I love dry sauna room.

Water bath *3 degree celsius (in winter), 20 degree celsius (in summer).

Do you know “water bath”?
This is a bath with cold water, as you imagine.
In Japan, we often take water bath after sauna to cool down our body.
You can understand from below images.

water bath in Japan

Left of the images, you can see the number “15.9”. It means 15.9 degrees celsius. We take this after sauna.

This image is for example. Yu-raku’s water bath is more colder than this. It will be 3 degrees celsius in winter, but I feel very soft touch because the water quality is good.
So I always drink water from the faucet.

Rest *Beautiful views like japanese ink painting “suiboku-ga”.

Yu-raku’s most attractive point is beautiful view.

view from outdoor bath <from official website>

How is it?

view from outdoor bath <from official website>

Is it difficult to convey?

view from outdoor bath <from this website>

This picture is the clearest!
There are two chairs to relax and to see nice view.
When I am looking at the ridge in the distance, I get the illusion of being in the world of Japanese ink painting.

I visit over 100 sauna, but I can’t meet such a nice view very rarely.

Summary

When I was a boy, I imitated my father to enjoy sauna.
I didn’t know the goodness of sauna, and why my father was watching to hourglass in the humid.

But I loved outside bath. So I looped bath and outside, hot and cool down.
When I think about it now, I did alternate bath that is the essence of sauna.

My memorable first sauna of life.

Even If I’ll meet other great sauna in the future, Yu-raku will be the best.

--

--

Kamiguchi Junki
0 Followers

I’m Japanese. 31 years old. Live in Tokyo. From Toyama, Japan. Working at a TV station. I produce a program specializing in saunas.